Baby Safe, Edible Finger Painting!

Caleb Painting

Oh my goodness, this is the best thing I’ve made since I made, you know, my son! We had given our little man a pile of potatoes, a food he loves with all of this heart, the night before his six month half birthday. Yes, I cry just thinking about this fact. No, I’m not going to go on and on about it. I’m not a fan of crying! Anywho, Mr. Caleb just LOVED playing with the potatoes and smooshing them all around on his high chair. A nice shower was totally needed after wards but it made me think… Time for finger painting!

As all babies like to taste anything and everything they can get their hands on, I set out on a mission to make an edible but still usable paint. I went straight to Pinterest. Honestly, I was disappointed with most of what I saw. None of the things people were making had the same consistency as regular finger or tempura paint. If I was going to do this, I wanted to do it right. Finally I came to a recipe that seemed simple enough and the results looked like real paint. Not that the food coloring in potato idea was bad, Caleb would love it I’m sure, but I really wanted to have something that would last and not just chip away but wouldn’t dye him too badly either.

At last, here is the super simple recipe that we used. It was a total blast and I hope you have fun with it as well!

Ingredients:

1/3 Cups of Flour

2 TBSP of Sugar

1 Tsp. of Salt

2 Cups of Water

Food Coloring of Your Choice*

*You can use natural alternatives such as powdered juice, tea, or anything else you can think of. That way people with food dye allergies or sensitive skin can use it too.

Instructions:

Add all of the ingredients, besides the dye, together in a pot. Constantly whisk and let boil until the right consistency, something close to tempura paint. Afterwards, add the dye to the mixture. There is enough for six colors easily from this recipe. I ended up putting it in the freezer afterwards so I could use it right away. I recommend letting it cool by itself instead as it thickened quite a bit when I cooled it in the freezer.

Simple as that though. It doesn’t stain little one, it’s totally fine for them to eat, and it cleans up super easily. Never spend money on finger paint again!

 

Tell me how it went, share pictures of your little ones and their masterpieces. Thanks for reading! To reply privately, email me at sami.jordynn@gmail.com

One thought on “Baby Safe, Edible Finger Painting!

  1. Pingback: Finger Paints and Stamping Fun! | Mommi Sami

Leave a Reply

