SO COLD: Swimming?

11202952_880365515359089_4392610466562469284_n

To say the least, everyone thinks that we’re crazy. This is just barely the beginning of warm, way too warm and humid, weather in Maine. That means that the water wont be warm enough for probably at least another month. Yesterday was 80 degrees out though and I was pretty determined to go swimming. Covered in sweat, not even owning a bathing suit, I told Corey I wanted to go down to the Rec. and secretly gathered Caleb’s swim stuff and towels.

We walked the fifteen minutes down to our local Recreational Park. I walked right past the play ground Corey wanted to stay on and straight into the water. Heck yes. It was cold; frigid even. Did it feel amazing though? Absolutely. Caleb, my little water baby, was so ready to dive right in after me so I had Corey put his swimmy diaper on him and his bathing suit. He ran right in, fell over, swam a little (which was pretty impressive; he kept his head up), and then ran right out. A few breaths later he walked right back in up to his thighs and smiled.

He was only really in the water a few minutes total and then stood just up to his ankles and splashed around. He wasn’t in any danger, I was right there with him and knew that even though it was cold it wasn’t TOO cold. If he had turned blue or had been shivering uncontrollably I totally would have taken him out. He had a total blast. I mean look at that smile! He was just about to run back in and was so pleased with himself and where we were.

Once again, this all comes down to trust. I trusted that if it was too cold for him, Caleb would have gotten out of the water. I trusted that he wouldn’t let himself get hurt by the water. I stood back and let him do his thing. Corey was at the ready with a towel and dry clothes just in case. Sure enough though, he had the time of his life in the “big puddle.” I’m so glad our little family got the chance to go out and have fun like that with one another.

11193312_880365695359071_2879647811304858753_n

Leave a Reply

