Color my Life

Chalk

I’ve always been a very critical person when it came to myself. I like to call myself artistic. I play piano and guitar, paint, draw, crochet, make jewelery and bows… I’m certainly not a master in any of it. Knowing that whatever I was making or playing wasn’t perfect would always make me feel low. Eventually I’d stop doing whatever it was other than at home by myself or with Caleb.

Now, that’s the thing. Caleb doesn’t know that his artwork wouldn’t be considered perfect. He doesn’t know that his finger paintings would be considered anything more than some splashes of colors. He is proud. He has fun making things. He takes pride in presenting his colorful art work and you know what? That makes it the absolutely most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. He makes art, or strums his guitar, because it makes him happy. You should see him go at it screaming a little song and strumming his guitar for us. It’s just the sweetest thing to watch.

We can all take a lesson from Caleb. Don’t take life so seriously. Don’t do things you enjoy for other. Do it for you. If you like to draw, do it. You don’t have to make a masterpiece as long as you have fun along the way. Kids are so smart. Let’s let them color our lives.

Leave a Reply

