Playdough and Fine Motor Skills

WIN_20151015_204106 (2)

I’ve been working with Caleb’s fine motor skills since he was born. Now that he can take directions, and has sharper skills, I’m constantly on the hunt to find new activities for him. This is going to be a short post, because it’s pretty straight forward, but I figured I’d share anyhow.

Tonight we dug out the playdough. I started by flattening out a little bit, drawing a C, and handing him a straw. I had my own straw, and I showed him how to use it as a hole punch over the line of the C. This was fun, but the most interesting part for him was making the holes, and the C was quickly forgotten about. Then I remembered the beading activities I’d seen on Pinterest. I rolled little balls of the playdough, and showed him how to push one onto the straw. He loved it! He took the straw from me and threaded all of the balls on. A few broke as he pushed them on, but he just flattened them onto the paper, and stuck the other straw into it.

All together we spent about thirty minutes on the activity. It was a good way to spend time together, we talked about shapes, we talked about the letter C, and he got good practice for his fine motor skills. I highly recommend this activity!

Leave a Reply

