Reduce, Reuse, and Craft!: Turtle Drink Holders

WIN_20151015_180612 (2)

Corey has a slight soda addiction. Very often, aka every day, he runs to 7-11, and brings home his soda, as well as a snack and drinks for Caleb and I, in a drink holder. I’ve been keeping them all pilled up in my pantry for a few months now, because I knew eventually I could use them for something. Last night a friend of mine was telling me her nickname used to be Shelly. This led to a conversation about turtles, and the creation of this craft!

Walking by this afternoon, I spotted my pile, and instantly thought, “Turtle shell!” I grabbed a bunch of green, orange, and yellow markers. Caleb and I sat on the living room floor going to town on the drink holder. I colored one of the triangles green, and he copied. Then I outlined everything in different colors, and had Caleb cover everything else in his cute multi-colored scribbles. He really went to town on it and I’m completely in love. He learned about some pattern recognition, we talked about colors, and I told him about turtles while we colored.

Once the shell was done, I just grabbed a piece of paper and drew a quick head, tail, and legs onto it. I’m sure one of you awesome readers can do something even better with it, but Caleb was anxious to rip the cup holder apart. There was a little rip, and he had started picking at it. I asked him if I could get a picture first, and he said, “Okay mom. One.” After I handed it back he ripped it to pieces, and then colored more on the pieces. Silly, silly little boy.

Let me know if you try this! It was a ton of fun for Caleb and me. I think the next craft will be turning one into a cow.

Leave a Reply

